This is twenty nine

29_and_fabulous_birthday_postcard-p239278916788439153qibm_400

So here I go again
Wake up this morning
And this day is mine
The last to begin with a two

It seems only yesterday
I turned twenty
With a lifetime ahead
Perhaps I’ve spent almost a decade
Wasting time and stuck in my head
Yet I don’t regret a moment

I may not be on par with others
With their careers and families
And I struggle with thoughts
In my head
I’ve stayed in a comfort zone
And only began to break the shell
recently

Yet now I am 29
And the past has led me
To this moment
To awareness and confidence
To acceptance and happiness.

What 29 will mean
I can only guess
But I am excited
By the opportunities
And somewhat challenged
By all that is ahead.

5 thoughts on “This is twenty nine

Leave a Reply

